Outbound Wiki

Article

Remove Suppression List Addresses from Contacts

support.sendgrid.com

Open at publisher

Quoted on this wiki

Every place a page here uses this source, in the order the words come in it.

  1. Objective It is important to note that the Suppression lists in a SendGrid account are not the same as contacts stored in Marketing Campaigns > Contacts. SendGrid contact storage is not linked to any suppression lists. Deleting or changing contacts under Marketing > Contacts will not have any affects or remove any addresses from any lists under the Suppressions tab in the account.

    In Opt-out compliance testing

  2. It is important to note that the Suppression lists in a SendGrid account are not the same as contacts stored in Marketing Campaigns > Contacts. Suppression lists are repositories of addresses that will have requests dropped, and they do not count toward contact storage. However, dropped requests will consume email credits. Deleting or changing contacts under Marketing > Contacts will not have any affects or remove any addresses from any lists under the Suppressions tab in the account. Instead, Suppression lists require specific steps to edit safely in order to avoid sending emails to previously suppressed recipients and damaging sender reputation. If you would like to safely clean your Suppression lists, here are the instructions to follow in order to remove those suppressed contacts from the account.

    In Opt-out compliance testing

  3. SendGrid contact storage is not linked to any suppression lists. Deleting or changing contacts under Marketing > Contacts will not have any affects or remove any addresses from any lists under the Suppressions tab in the account. Instead, Suppression lists require specific steps to edit safely in order to avoid sending emails to previously suppressed recipients and damaging sender reputation. Product

    In Opt-out compliance testing

  4. When viewing your dashboard, navigate to the left-hand menu and click Suppressions. Open a specific group, i.e. Global Unsubscribes, click the action menu in the upper right corner, then select Download as CSV. Repeat step 2 for each of the groups that you want to remove (unsubscribes, spam reports, etc.) and merge each of those lists into a single CSV file.

    In Suppression and unsubscribe tools